Module 8 Online Learning

Over the past 10 years, the amount of online courses for college as well as high school has significantly increased.  You can get a degree from a college now that only offers online courses.  One advantage of taking online classes as apposed to traditional classes is the lower total cost to take the class.  In addition to a cheaper class rate, there are no commuting costs and in some instances there may not be required course materials like textbooks. Another advantage is convenience and flexibility, students can plan their study time around the rest of their day, meaning they can study and work when they are at their peak energy.  It is also a more comfortable learning environment.

Out of the web design training references provided, Treehouse looks like it would be the most helpful for me.  From the reference page, “Treehouse is a video-based service, offering web design training in HTML and CSS, web development (including HTML5 and Javascript), and creating iOS apps (using Objective-C and Xcode), all wrapped up in a clear and easy-to-navigate user interface.”  I’m more of a visual learner and I can follow along instructions pretty easily, that’s why a well produced instructional video would be the best thing for me to learn.  “Not only does Treehouse provide great content but there’s also a game element to the site that tests you on what you’ve learned and rewards you with achievement badges. So if you need extra motivation to learn, this is a great site to use.”

Personally, I prefer traditional classes to online ones and I feel like CA 260 would be worse as an online course at least for me.  I feel, in a traditional class, if my distractions are limited I can really focus on my lessons and work.  I would definitely enjoy the course less especially because of the loss of an actually instructor present.  If I have a question or if I have some sort of error in my html or css code, my questions are answers almost immediately with an instructor there.  In my experience, if you have a question for an instructor that teaches an online course, you will have to wait to get an answer sometimes up to 3 or 4 days.

Leave a Reply

